AAWR Awards

The deadline is fast approaching for the 2014 AAWR awards.  Awards will be presented during the Annual Business Meeting during RSNA.
Please note there is a new nomination process for 2014

The Marie Sklodowska-Curie Award, is presented annually to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of women in radiology/radiation oncology.  The nomination form will address the unique role the nominee has undertaken in leadership, clinical care, teaching, and/or scholarship and the accomplishments that impacted women in our professions.  The nominee must be a long-term member of the AAWR. Presentation of the award will take place at the AAWR Annual Business Meeting Luncheon the Sunday during the RSNA Annual Meeting.

The Alice Ettinger Distinguished Achievement Award , recognizes the lifetime achievement and lasting contribution to radiology/radiation oncology and to the American Association for Women Radiologists. Candidates must be long-term members of the AAWR and must have distinguished careers as mentors, teachers, and leaders in radiology/radiation oncology, and public service. 

The Lucy Frank Squire Distinguished Resident Award in Diagnostic Radiology recognizes outstanding contributions in clinical care and scholarship. The nominees must be members of the AAWR and must be in residency training at the time of the award. Only one nomination per residency program is allowed. Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of outstanding contributions in clinical care, teaching, research, or public service.

The Eleanor Montague Distinguished Resident Award in Radiation Oncology recognizes contributions to radiology or the AAWR, community involvement, service during residency, or research endeavors. Nominees must be members of the AAWR and must be in residency training at the time of the award. There should only be only one nomination per residency program. Nominees will be evaluated on the basis of outstanding contributions in clinical care, teaching, research, or public service.

To apply, the following information must be submitted in addition to completing the on-line application:

·  a completed nomination form;

·  a nominating letter from the residency director (to include a notation of what year the candidate will be in residency at the time of the award ceremony);

· a letter of concurrence from the departmental chair; and

·  a copy of the candidate's curriculum vitae.

Eleanor Montague Distinguished Resident Award in Radiation Oncology Application

Deadline - JUNE 30

The Foundation of the American Society of Neuroradiology (Foundation), American College of Radiology (ACR), and American Association for Women Radiologists (AAWR) have established an award to provide leadership opportunities for women in neuroradiology. Since neuroradiologists must be leaders in the field, this award is for mid-career women with demonstrated experience and promise for leadership in neuroradiology and/or radiology overall. The objectives are to provide the awardee with additional skills and insights to enhance opportunities for advancement. The ACR Radiology Leadership Institute will be hosting its premier leadership educational event in conjunction with Babson College in Wellesley, MA on August 7 - 10, 2014. The winner of the joint ASNR/ACR/AAWR award will receive tuition and transportation to attend this event.


  • A candidate must have a MD or DO degree and CAQ in neuroradiology.
  • Candidates must have demonstrated experience and promise for leadership in radiology.
  • Applicant must be a member of ASNR, ACR, and AAWR prior to applying for the award.
  • Strong consideration will be given to applicants from practices and institutions that show a commitment to the applicant’s career development.


All applications should include (these documents are to be e-mailed):

  • An application form
  • A current curriculum vitae
  • A statement from the applicant that describes the applicants’ involvement within the ASNR, ACR, and/or AAWR (e.g. committee member, prior award recipient, etc.), qualifications, professional aspirations, and goals for attending the Academy (in addition to Career Goals and Objectives).
  • Two letters of support from academic chair or practice leader and from a leader outside of the applicant’s department or practice but relevant to leadership area of interest.


  • Deadline for receipt of Applications and required attachments is 9:00 AM Central Standard Time (CST), Monday, March 17, 2014
  • Late applications will not be accepted. These should be submitted electronically (in .pdf or .doc format)
  • Send all submission materials to Karen Meyer (foundationawards@asnr.org). On the subject line of e-mail submissions, indicate Women in Neuroradiology Leadership Award.
  • Applications will only be accepted electronically; no hard copy documents by mail or fax will be accepted.
  • Selection of award recipients will be in Spring 2014, with subsequent notification of the recipient.

2013 Award Recipients

2013 Winner
Alice Ettinger Achievement Award - Nina A. Mayr, MD
2013 Winner

Lucy Frank Squire Resident - Elizabeth Asch, MD
2013 Winner

Eleanor Montague Resident - Jillian Tsai, MD
2013 Winner

Women in Neuroradiology Award  - Pina Sanelli, MD
2013 Winner

R&E Foundation Awards